Aamboli Etc.

 

 

I have gone through various eating phases throughout my life..Since when I remember, I was a kadak pav devotee and  I never got tired of  it. Even today whenever I visit Mumbai, I religiously eat it for breakfast every day. When in grade school, I developed a taste for aamboli -it was my first encounter with dosa in any form .My earliest memories are that of waking up on some Sunday mornings  and finding my mom in the kitchen making piles of thick, golden aamboli.  What a perfect way to start a day (for me, not for my mom); a tall steaming mug of tea was a perfect medium to dip these pancakes for a hearty breakfast. We would then savor the aamboli with chicken or mutton curry for lunch and leftovers would grace our school lunches the next day. My mom would also make it on special occasions such as Gokulashtami and we would then eat it dipped in naralacha ras (sweetened coconut milk); this is a preferred way of eating aamboli in  Konkan region where my family hails from.

 My mom also used to make pole (a soft dosa)  with Maharashtrian style green chutney, but I always preferred to eat them, yes you guessed it right, dipped in hot tea. When I divulged this piece of information to my South Indian husband, he was totally disgusted and advised me not to ever mention it to his side of the family. Apparently, dosa in any guise should be eaten only with coconut chutney, sambar, chutney powder or potato subzi, and any other way is considered corrupt .  

I learnt many types of dosas from my mother-in-law and decided to capture them in one single post. This will be my one-stop reference when my family is in a mood for Indian pancakes.

Aamboli

 2 cup raw rice

½ cup Urad Dal

¼ cup chana dal

¼ cup moong dal

¼ cup Toor Dal

½ cup thin poha

2 tsp fenugreek seeds

  • Soak all the dals and fenugreeek seeds together in enough water from 5-8 hours.
  • Soak rice in enough water for 8 hours.
  • Before grinding drain the water, add poha to rice  along with half a cup of water and wait for 15 minutes or  till poha becomes soft.
  • Grind everything to a smooth paste.
  • Ferment overnight or for 8 hour or till the batter doubles in volume.
  • Add ½ cup grated coconut if desired.
  • Add to the batter 1 tbsp turmeric powder, 2 tbsp oil and salt to taste. Stir well.
  • Heat a cast-iron skillet on a medium heat.
  • Spread 1 teaspoon oil on the skillet.
  • Pour a cupful of batter and spread into a thick circle.
  • When one side is done, flip the pancake.
  • Sprinkle some water on top side and spread it with your palm.
  • Ccover the aamboli  with lid and let cook for a couple of minutes.
  • The application of water will keep the aamboli soft.
  • Now dig in.



Aamboli with sambar, coconut chutney and chutney pudi

Naral Ras

Add jiggery, pinch of salt and pinch of cardamom powder to coconut milk and stir to mix.

Pole

1 cup urad dal

2 cup raw rice

1 tsp methi seeds

Dosa

1 cup urad dal

3 cups  raw rice ( I use long grain)

1 tbsp methi seeds

Handlful of thin poha

Rava Dosa

1 cup Urad dal

2 cups of thin sooji

1 cup raw rice

Or

1 cup Urad dal

1 cup thin soji/ thin rava

2 cup raw rice

For the above 4 types of dosas

  1. Soak urad dal and fenugreek seeds for 5-8 hours
  2. Soak rice for 8 hours.
  3. Soak the rava(if an ingredient) for an hour or more.
  4. Grind the rice and dal together, add rawa and ferment overnight.
  5. Add salt and oil before making dosa.
  6. If making pole , make them thicker than dosa. They will be soft and spongy. Dosa should be thin and crispy.

Instant Rava Dosa

1 – 2 cup sour curd

1 cup Rice flour

1 cup thin sooji

½ cup wheat flour

½ cup all-purpose flour

  1. Mix all the ingredients and keep them aside for couple of hours.
  2. Add chopped onions, tomatoes, green chilies, curry leaves, cilantro, salt and oil.
  3. Make thin  dosas on a cast-iron pan.

 

This entry was posted in Pots and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

