Butterscotch Ice-cream

 

 I am running against time. I am doing my best to make most of the few remaining summer days. My allergies have already kicked in; I have been spending sleepless nights on the couch dealing with itchy throat. If only I could stick a pencil down my throat and scratch vigorously. A mug of steaming hot water has replaced my ice-filled pitcher. My co-workers are walking around with allergy induced swollen red eyes, sneezing and coughing, and blowing noses.  It has been raining every other day and the moisture from the rain has been creating more irritants in the form of grass and mold allergies. I shudder and sulk  at the thought of six cold months ahead, but finally I suck it up and leaf through my bookmarks and cook books for a new ice-cream recipe. Chocolate-mint, cookie dough, double chocolate don’t appeal me; true to my roots I go for pistachio, mango, rum and raisin and butterscotch flavors. I discover a butterscotch recipe at Smitten Kitchen, and decide to give it a try.   

The original recipe called for one and half cups of whipping cream and two cups of half and half. I had only whipping cream on hand, and decided to go with one cup of 1% milk and two and half cups of whipping cream. But when I tasted the mixture in step 6, it smelled and tasted too eggy and I added another cup of warm cream. The result was a velvety smooth, ice-cream and my kids voted it to be the best ice-cream I had ever made.   

Butterscotch Ice Cream   

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon vanilla
3 1/2 cups whipping cream
1 cup 1% milk
6 large egg yolks   

  1. In a small pan add butter over medium heat. Once butter is melted, add brown sugar and cook till mixture is bubbly about 3 to 4 minutes.
  2. Add  1/2 cup whipping cream and whisk till there are no lumps. Remove butterscotch mixture from heat.
  3. Heat  remaining whipping cream in another medium pan over medium heat and bring to a simmer.
  4. Beat the egg yolks in a bowl and whisk in ½ cup of warm cream mixture into them. Pour the yolk cream mixture into the remaining cream that is simmering on the stove. Cook for 2 to 4 minutes, stirring constantly till mixture is just thickened. Remove from the heat.
  5. Pour the mixture from step 4 through a fine strainer into a bowl.  Do not skip this step. I was tempted to do so, but I decided to stick to the recipe and boy was I glad that I did.
  6. Whisk in butterscotch mixture and chill for couple of hours
  7.  Freeze mixture in an ice cream maker.

   

This entry was posted in Pots and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

