To shape up or to drop

 

At my house breakfast on weekdays is a flexible affair. We all leave the house at different times, and everyone grabs whatever they fancy and what the time permits. Choices range from cold cereal, oatmeal, wheat toast, waffles to leftover muffins and biscuits from the weekend. Breakfast on weekends however is a different story. Kids like to fuel themselves well to beat their opponents in soccer and baseball; I and my husband need energy to run from one game to another and run errands afterwards, so this definitely calls for a hearty breakfast.  

If you stop by my house on Sunday morning you will be offered scrambled eggs and biscuits. Saturday mornings are reserved for upama and muffins, and never in my wildest dreams I steer away from these options. My family has this menu down for years, and they would go berserk even with a hint of change.  

I like biscuits, but every buttery bite admonishes me, and throws cold water on my plans to savor a guiltless breakfast.  On the other hand, my twiggy kids relish the richness of biscuits, and turn their noses up if offered a slice of french bread instead. After trying numerous low-fat recipes, I finally found one that was enjoyed by all of us alike.  The Buttermilk biscuits from Deborah Madison’s Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone are soft and tangy.  I hardly ever bother to roll the dough, and then use biscuit cutter to shape the biscuits, but instead opt for dropped biscuits. I have made these biscuits with white wheat flour and with whole wheat pastry flour and results were acceptable, but for our Sunday morning breakfast I let myself  loose, and  go for the all-purpose flour version.  

Basic Buttermilk Biscuits  

You will need  

2 cups all-purpose or whole-wheat pastry flour or white wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
4 tbsp canola oil (original recipe called for 6 tbsp butter)
1 1/3 cups buttermilk. If rolling the dough use 1 cup buttermilk. 
Preheat the oven to 450 degree farenheit and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or lightly grease the sheet with butter.
Combine the dry ingredients in a bowl.
If using butter, cut in the butter with your fingers into the flour mixture. If using oil, stir it into the buttermilk.
Pour the buttermilk (or buttermilk +oil mixture) into the dry ingredients.
Stir lightly; the mixture will be lumpy.
Drop the biscuits by a tablespoon onto the prepared pan. For rolled biscuits, flour the counter and pat the dough into a circle about 3/4 inch thick, cut with a biscuit cutter. Bake for 15-20 minutes.  

   

Buttermilk biscuits

  

This entry was posted in Pots and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

