Pistachio Heaven

 I have been deprived! All these years I was resigned to the fact but not anymore.

My object of affection is pistachio ice-cream. When I was growing up in India, ice-cream used to be a special treat. My parents would buy couple of pints of ice-cream, and we kids would grab anything in sight that would remotely resemble and function as a bowl and spoon and hurriedly scarf down our share and more. I would always make sure to eat more than my sister, and she being the older one would charitably turn blind eye to my greediness.

Marriages were another occasion when we would get limited or unlimited (in case of weddings of close relatives) supply of ice-cream. My memories of uncles’ and aunts’, marriages revolve around pistachio ice-cream. I never really cared for gaulab jamuns, ladoos and puries and papads and plenty other sweets and savories that were served throughout the day. The focal point of the day for me was the wedding reception, main attraction being pistachio ice-cream. To my mom’s horror, I would strategically move from one row to another, predicting accurately where the ice-cream would be served next, flash an angelic smile at the servers and would then devour countless servings. I would be indignant on occasions when cassata was served in place of pistachio. As a kid I had nicknamed it as confused cassata; I presumed whoever had invented it, couldn’t decide whether to serve a cake or an ice-cream and ended up combining both of them. Today, Indian wedding ceremonies boast an array of delicacies from cuisines around the world, luscious desserts abound and pistachio ice-cream has borne the fate of an uninvited poor relation.

Couple of years back, I was delighted to find pistachio ice-cream in our local Indian grocery store, but the overly sweet frozen mass didn’t have any resemblance to the lush dessert I was used to . But surely there was light at the end of the tunnel.When Nupur announced Blog Bites Copycat Edition, I knew exactly what to do.  Jugalbandi’s Hazelnut chocolate ice-cream was not only a treat for eyes, but their informative and clear-cut recipe seemed doable. They had even suggested alternatives if you wanted to skip custard making process.  I didn’t own ice-cream maker, but nothing was coming in my way. I dispatched my husband to the mall, and headed to  a grocery store to stock the ingredients. 

I skipped some steps and mine came close to pistachio kulfi rather than ice-cream. Nevertheless, the result was heavenly and I licked my bowl clean. Next time, I would follow the recipe to the letter to get my dream dessert.

Here is my lazy version

3/4 cups pistachio nuts shelled

2 cups milk. I used whole milk

1/2 cup granulated sugar (more if needed)

1 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream

1/2 tsp rose essence

1. Puree pistachios with 1 cup of milk to form a fine paste.

2. Add remaining milk and pour into a microwave safe bowl.

3. Microwave for 5 minutes. Keep aside to cool down.

4. Whip cream and sugar with electric mixer till soft peaks form. Keep tasting to adjust sugar.

5. Mix in the cooled pistachio-milk mixture.

6. Add rose essence.

7. Let the ice-cream  machine do rest of the work.

Pistachio Heaven

This entry was posted in Pots and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pistachio Heaven

  1. Nupur says:

    Ha ha, I used to love attending wedding receptions for the same reason! Thanks for a lovely entry; the ice cream does look dreamy. Pistachio is definitely one of my all-time favorites too.

  2. SS says:

    Hey lovely kulfi/ice-cream!! Nice write-up too! 🙂 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

