No-Cook Poha

Baseball games, swim lessons, soccer practices consume my evenings from spring till fall, and on most of these days I find myself scrounging for food. My family is not enthusiastic about eating out on a regular basis, and it has been a standing challenge to put nutritious dinner on table on time every evening. To top it, everybody is always famished post games and practices, and I face the daunting task of whipping up something last-minute late at night. Understandably, whenever I find a no cook recipe, I cling to it and serve it till my family begs me to take a break
from it. So when PJ announced the no-cook event, I was thrilled to the core. Now I will have a copious list of delicious and easy no-cook recipes to choose from. I will present these recipes to my family with a smirk and revel in their adoring and loving looks. My family is not aware of this event and I am planning to take all the credit for the scrumptious treats that I will be not-cooking for the next few months.     

To subdue my guilt, I am contributing my favorite late-night snack,No-Cook Poha to ‘no cook’ event by PJ. Wiki has some good information about the good old Indian Poha (flattened rice) that is found in every Indian grocery
store.     

No-Cook Poha    

Serves 2.    

Mix following ingredients and keep aside for twenty minutes.    

2 cups of thin Poha
2 tbsp grated coconut (fresh/frozen). I used frozen.
2 tbsp grated green chilies and ginger
1 tomato chopped
salt to taste
pinch of sugar
generous amount of lemon juice . I used one lemon.    

Garnish it with following.    

2 tbsp cilantro
1 tsp red chilli powder
4 tbsp chopped red onion
4 tbsp roasted peanuts
  

Depending on the time of the day you can wash down the Poha with a glass of orange juice, mug of chilled beer or a cup of hot steaming tea.    

No-Cook Poha

 

If you are ready to tackle the stove, you can heat one tablespoon of oil in a small saucepan. When oil is hot, add mustard seeds and cumin seeds. When mustard seeds start crackling, add asafoetida and turmeric. Pour the seasoning on Poha and mix thoroughly.     

This entry was posted in Pots and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No-Cook Poha

Leave a Reply

