Crunchy Kachori

 

 It is snowing and is minus six degree Fahrenheit outside. Such dreary weather calls for a steaming hot, pungent and crunchy fare.  Since we have been blessed with this Arctic blast for the last two weeks, I haven’t had the courage to step out for grocery shopping.  As I stare at my near-empty fridge (which is a very rare incident), it dawns on me that it is time to whip up something from pantry staples. Fortunately my fridge is always stocked with dough for Kadak Pav, and as I cast a loving glance at it, inspiration strikes me and I come up with a brilliant idea (in my opinion) for breaded Kachori.

 Kachori is a ball shaped pastry filled with spices, nuts and legumes and fried in oil. Now that I had settled on my custom outer shell, I had to come up with Kachori filling. I turned to my cookbook shelf and found a recipe that looked quite appealing.  It is adapted from Ruchira by Kamalabai Ogale. The original recipe did not specify any measurements, and I adjusted them to suit my family’s taste buds.

 Ingredients

 Outer Shell:

 ¼ part of artisan bread. The recipe can be found at this blog.

 Filling:

 Seasoning for the dal:

 2 tbsp oil

½ tsp mustard seeds

½ tsp cumin seeds

½ tsp fenugreek seeds

¼ tsp turmeric power

Pinch of asafoetida

 Dal mixture:

½ cup moong dal soaked for couple of hours

1 tbsp cumin powder   

1 tbsp coriander powder

¼ tsp sugar

¼ tsp salt ¼

1 tsp red chili powder

 Additional seasoning:

 1 tbsp roasted poppy seeds

1 tbsp roasted sesame seeds

1 tsp fennel seeds 

2 tbsp Coconut (Dry/ fresh grated/ frozen grated)

2 tbsp finely chopped cilantro leaves

½ tbsp chopped cashew pieces

2 tbsp lemon juice

Oil 2 Tsp

METHOD

 1.     Heat oil in a sauce pan. When oil is hot, add mustard seeds, cumin seeds and fenugreek seeds. When mustard seeds start crackling, add asafoetida and turmeric.

 2.     Immediately add soaked moong dal, ½ cup of water, cumin powder, coriander powder, sugar, salt and red chili powder. Cook it for 10 minutes or till dal is cooked and water is completely evaporated.

 3.     Let the dal cool down completely.

 4.     Season with poppy seeds, sesame seeds, fennel seeds, coconut, cilantro leaves, cashew pieces and lemon juice and filing is ready. Adjust seasoning per taste, and divide into 8 equal parts.

 5.     Preheat oven to 450 F, with a baking stone placed on the lowest rack. Also place an empty broiler tray on the 2nd shelf from top.

 6.     Divide bread dough into 8 equal parts and roll each ball into 5 inch circles making sure that the center is little thicker.

 7.     Heap one portion of filling in the center of the circle and cover it up folding all the sides and sealing it well. Do the some for all the remaining portions.

Kachori Fillings

 8.     Place all the balls on the baking stone, keeping them apart by at least one inch. Pour 1 cup of warm water into broiler tray, and bake kachories for 30 minutes.

Hot Kachories

 We enjoyed this savory treat with ketchup, green coconut chutney and a cup of hot Indian chai.  This is also my entry for Susan’s legume love affair event hosted by Simple Indian Food.

Ready to eat Kachories

This entry was posted in Pots and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Crunchy Kachori

  1. EC says:

    Interesting filling in kachoris..thanks for the entry

  2. Susan says:

    A near-empty fridge? Gee, I’d like one of those once in a while, just to see what I’ve got in order to plan meals better.

    These kachori look wonderful. What a great and unusual (to me) snack.

  3. Nithu Bala says:

    Dear, Congrats for winning MLLA. I love your kachori ..very nice picture..came here thru’ EC’s MLLA round up and I’m very happy to found your blog..

    • Hey Nitu, Thanks. I hope you enjoyed your visit. I really liked your blog, particularly the recipe for pepper ginger juice which I am going to try tomorrow, I hope that it will cure my cold.

  4. spice says:

    Congrats for winning MLLA…….U got nice space here….kachoris are perefct…

Leave a Reply

